North Carolina gun laws are considered permissive with a “Shall Issue” policy. There are no restrictions on calibers or magazine size and limited restrictions on open carry. We thought it would be helpful to provide you with information on how to purchase a Firearm in North Carolina. More information below!
Purchasing a Gun from a (FFL) Dealer
Long guns require a valid NC Drivers License / NC ID or a Valid Drivers License / ID from another Free State, and a NICS background check.
(If you have a NC Concealed Handgun Permit no background check is required)
Military Personal can purchase a long gun with a Military ID/DOD ID in conjunction with supplemental documentation to prove residency and a NICS background check.
Supplemental documentation are listed below:
Handguns require a valid NC Drivers License / NC ID, and a Pistol Purchase permit.
(If you have a NC Concealed Handgun Permit no Pistol Purchase is required)
Military Personal can purchase a Handgun with a Military ID/DOD ID and a Pistol Purchase permit.
(If you have a NC Concealed Handgun Permit no Pistol Purchase permit is required)
Law Enforcement with credentials from the state of North Carolina can purchase a Handgun with a NICS background check
You must be at least 21 years old to buy a Handgun from a licensed dealer.
You must be at least 18 years old to purchase a rifle or shotgun from a licensed dealer.
Below you will find more information on how to obtain a Pistol Purchase Permit or a NC Concealed Handgun Permit below
Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;
A NICS background check is required for all new applications and renewals. Non-Residents
North Carolina does not issue concealed carry permits to non-residents.
All renewal applications require a NICS background check.
Below you will find a downloadable PDF of the Pistol Purchase permit application process & Requirement's for Onslow County,
you can also do this online by clicking on the link below
Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Sheriff of the county the applicant resides in.
45 Days Once the application is received it will take about 45 days to complete all the necessary checks.
If your CCW permit is denied you can appeal the decision to the District Court.
Section 14-415.15(c) states that any person denied a CCW permit has the right to appeal the decision.
The appeal must be in written format and filed with the District Court citing the reasons for the appeal.
In general appeals are considered without a hearing with the decision being sent to the appellant in writing. (Probably seek out legal advice, because that is not us)
Permits to purchase a handgun are issued by the sheriff in your county. You can only apply for a permit in your county off residence, or use the link above.
For a handgun you would need to be 21 and for a long gun or shotgun 18 to buy from a licensed dealer. If you have a purchase permit and are 18 years or older you could buy a handgun from a private seller.
For now as of 2/6/2021.. The only guns that need to be registered are NFA guns.
There is no law in North Carolina that states how long you need to be a resident in your county before making an application. However, the sheriff in each county can set minimum residency requirements.
Yes, under statute 14-404 a person not residing in the county of application can get a Pistol Purchase Permit but it is limited to collecting firearms.